J. Harper Kent Charitable Foundation (Kent Scholarship) About
J. Harper Kent
About the
Board of
Asked Questions

Board of Governors

Cathy McLaughlin Catherine McLaughlin
Board of Governors - President

Cathy McLaughlin has been a director of the foundation since her return to Bathurst in 1979 after completing an honors degree in Business Administration from the University of Western Ontario.  She is currently President of Catherine & Company, a gift shop and ladies wear boutique which she founded in 1991.  She is also President of W.J. Kent & Co. Ltd.

Cathy is actively involved in her community, having assumed leadership roles on the Downtown Bathurst Revitalization Corporation, First United Church Office Board, Bathurst Waterfront Development Committee and Gloucester Chapter IODE.  She resides in Bathurst, New Brunswick with her husband.
Cathy McLaughlin Jack Nielsen
Board of Governors - Vice President

Jack Nielsen has been involved with the Foundation for over 35 years, and currently serves as Vice President. Until his retirement Jack was a Vice-President and Senior Investment Advisor for TD Waterhouse,Private Investment Advice in Saint John, NB. He has been involved in the Financial Services Industry since 1964. He also has been involved with numerous local charities and organizations over the past 30 years.

Jack and his wife Bette live in Saint John and their daughter Angela and Granddaughters, Madeline and Olivia live nearby.
Cathy McLaughlin Brenda Dunphy
Board of Governors - Secretary

Brenda Dunphy is a Senior Trust Officer for Scotia Private Client Group.  She is responsible for ongoing communication with the beneficiaries and co-trustees of Estate and Trusts administered by Scotiatrust.  She has been with Scotiabank Group since 1989.  Brenda is an Accredited Trust Officer and is a director and office of several private foundations.  Brenda and her family reside in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia.
Cathy McLaughlin Jack MacKay
Board of Governors - Director

Jack MacKay taught for 28 years in Bathurst. He spent 14 years as the principal of Bathurst High School, and the last 5 prior to his retirement as Director of Education and Superintendent of School District 15.

Always active in the community, Jack’s involvement has increased since retirement to include: Treasurer for Bathurst Hospital Centre Health Care Auxiliary Inc.; BHS Alumni Chair; Advisory Board Member for the College of Extended Learning - UNB (Bathurst); NB Department of Education - Educational Review & Accountability Unit; Nursing Association of New Brunswick; New Brunswick Society of Retired Teachers; Terry Fox Elementary School Parent Support Committee; and First United Church.

Jack enjoys traveling and most importantly, spending time with his grandchildren. Jack and his wife Emma reside in Darthmouth, NS.

Cathy McLaughlin Allison C. MacMillan
Board of Governors - Director

Allison C. MacMillan was born in Black Point, New Brunswick.  He was a member of the Royal Canadian Air Force from 1943 to 1945.  Allison graduated from Dalhousie University in 1949.  He was employed with Consolidated Bathurst for 37 years, retiring in 1988.  Allison resides in Bathurst, NB.
Scholarship Recipients Arseneau, Michaela
Back, Jehye (Sonia)
Belanger, Amber Sky
Boudreau, Isabelle Anne
Branch, Alyssa
Branch, Céleste
Caissie, Avery
Cameron, Nicholas
Comeau, Jean-Sebastien
Comeau, Nathan
Cormier-Roy, Jacob
Culligan, Cassidy
Dorkhom, Tania
Doucet Mallet, Chloé
Erb, Christina
Ferguson, Keara
Frenette, Carolyne
Frenette, Hailey
Frenette, Mélissa
Frigault, Olivia
Gauvin, Kelly
Giroux, Nicholas
Hachey, Shawn
Jean, Kristina
Lagacé, Danielle
Landry, Sarah
Lapointe, Chelsey
Lavigne, Chelsey
LeBreton, Robby
Léger, Myra
Levy, Brandon
MacLeod, Benjamin
Martin, Kaleigh
Matchett, Bradley
McCaffrey-Godin, Éric
Michaud, Amélie
Morin, Ariane
Pettigrew, Courtney
Pitre, Jestina
Richardson, Amélie
Robertson, Brett
Robichaud, Camron
Savoie, Madeleine
Scott, Jenni
Scott, Mackenzie
Scott, Shelby
Sisk, Kaylee
Smith, Carolyn
Smith, Tyler
St-Cyr, Valérie
Strong-Roy, Danika
Stymiest, Olivia
Thibodeau, Nicolas
Tulloch, Lauren
Valencia, Gabriela
Van der Pluijm, Magela
Vienneau, Michelle
Be sure to check the deadlines.

You would be very surprised how often students miss this
deadlines so our advice to you is bold and simple...

Apply Now!
J. Harper Kent Scholarship
Apply Now! Contact
J. Harper Kent
About the
Board of
Asked Questions