About J. Harper Kent

J. Harper Kent

Mr. Kent was a second generation entrepreneur who acquired his fortune through various businesses, including the popular Main Street department store, a motel, a shoe store, a propane company, a bowling alley, and a movie theatre. His impact on the region was tremendous; many Bathurst residents can recall fond memories spent catching up with neighbors and friends at the department store.

Mr. Kent believed strongly in the power of education. He recognized that attending post secondary institutions could change both individual lives and communities as a whole. His love of the area, and desire to help others, ignited a vision that creating a scholarship program would allow students to return to the Bathurst region and contribute to its cultural, economic, and social prosperity.

Since the foundation was established in 1976, it has awarded more than 7 million dollars to students from the region. The value of the scholarships have increased in value to echo Mr. Kent’s strong dedication to education, as well as to address rising costs of tuition. Full tuition is awarded to successful recipients. The scholarships are unique in that the foundation takes a very holistic approach in awarding them, looking at not only academic achievement and financial need, but also community involvement and future aspirations.  

Mr. Kent passed away in 1987, the same year that he received an honourary doctorate from the University of New Brunswick. Until her death in 2005, Mrs. Kent remained active on the Foundation’s board and selection committee, helping to ensure that her husband’s vision would continue to benefit the region’s students for years to come.

Scholarship Recipients Scholarship Recipients
Araya-Yohanes, Ab
Babineau, Joelle
Bertin, Cloé
Berubé, Clara
Blanchard, Sara Eve
Boudreau, Myriam
Boudreau, Myriam
Branch-Whitehead, Mackenzie
Brewster, Anna
Buraglia, Sophia
Clément, William Serge
Colton, Nicholas
Comeau, Arianne
Comeau, Brandon
Comeau, Genviève
Comeau, Myriam
Cormier, Shamus
Cunnison, Bereket
David, Nicholas
DeGrace, Mathias
Dobson, Amaya
Dorkhom, Ibrahim
Doucet Callie
Doucet, Annie
Doucet, Dany Daphnée
Duffy, Diana
Duffy, Meghan
Duguay, Audrey
Duguay, Samuel
Dumaresq, Isabelle
Dunn, Jade
Fisher, Hailey
Fournier, Ella
Frenette, Audrey
Gionet, Gabrielle
Godin, Olivier
Godin, Sarah
Godin-LeBreton, Emma
Guérette, Jolin
Guitard, Joanie
Johnstone, Carley
Kane, Joseph
Kelly, Amber
Kelly, Amber
Knowles, Acasha
Kramer, Angel
Landry, Raphaelle
Landry, Sarah
Landry, Vanessa
Lanteigne, Marie-Ève
LeBlanc, Audrey Maude
LeBlanc, Jolyane
LeBreton, Chloe
Lee, Breanna
Lurette, Sarah-Maude
MacCallum, Clae
MacDonald, Cassidy
MacDonald, Eric
Malenko-Nevins, Alexis
Mallais, Christophe
Murphy, Emma
Paulin, Maxime
Pethick, Emily
Pitre, Danika
Potvin, Maxime
Richard, Alexandre
Rioux, Zoé
Robichaud, Jessica
Rogers, Padden
Roy, Madison
Roy, Michael Alexis
Savoie, Yanik
Scott, Simon
Seth, Inayyat
Smith, Sheldon
Spencer, Sydney
St. Amand, Haley
Strong-Roy, Kassidy
Theriault, Kaleb
Tremblay, Megan
Vandenbrand, Curtis
Vienneau, Emily
Vienneau-Godin, Hailey

Be sure to check the deadlines.

You would be very surprised how often students miss this deadline so our advice to you is bold and simple...