Dr. J Harper Kent Scholar Bursary Award Recipients

The Dr. J. Harper Kent Scholar Bursary Award is awarded each year to one Bathurst region high school graduate entering his or her first year of an undergraduate degree. The recipient is awarded a $40,000 scholarship over a 4 year period.

Jolin Vienneau

Graduer de l’ESN en 2021, Jolin Vienneau fit parti du conseil étudiant au poste de trésorier lors de l’année scolaire 2020-2021. Durant son parcours scolaire, il participa à de multiples activités parascolaires dont le volleyball, l’harmonie et multiples d’autres. Élève modèle pour ces camarades de classe, il est toujours présent pour aider ceux-ci et ce tout avec un sourire sur le visage. A l’aide de ces profs, il se trouva attirer en particulier par les sciences. Cet automne il vas étudier à l’université de Montréal en mathématiques. Il espère, dans le futur, obtenir son doctorat dans cette matière.

Jolin aime la musique, sports, lecture, voyage et les gens ! 

Word of advice : Be kind.

Émilie Risdon

Émilie Risdon graduated from Bathurst High School in 2020 as valedictorian. She is interested in sports, music, faith, writing, and helping others, and was heavily involved in various clubs and teams throughout her time at BHS, as well as in the Bathurst community. Now an active part of her Saint Francis Xavier University campus community, she is pursuing a Bachelor of Arts and Science in Health with a Biomedical concentration. Currently in her second year at StFX, she is a member of Orientation Crew, Catholics at X, Intramural sport teams, as well as the Canadian Catholic Students’ Association Executive. 

Shaughnessy Riordon

Shaughnessy Riordon is a 2019 Bathurst High School graduate. He was valedictorian of his graduating class (99.13% average) and won the Governor General Medal. He was student council President this year and was Vice-President last year. He has played on numerous varsity sports teams; Hockey, Soccer, Volleyball, Basketball and Track & Field. He was very instrumental in bringing back the Buddy Club at Bathurst High School and truly champions the underdog. In his spare time Shaughnessy enjoys reading, travelling, playing the piano and saxophone. He also works on his family's dairy farm. In the fall, Shaughnessy will be attending University of New Brunswick in Fredericton and plans on majoring in Bio-Chemistry.   

Lauren Tulloch

Lauren Tulloch (she/they) graduated from BHS in 2018 as salutatorian. Among her honours for English and French, Lauren received accolades for leadership and excellence in drama/music. She won the Chaleur’s Outstanding Youth Award in the Arts category in 2018 and participated in multiple provincial poetry slam competitions. Having participated in 27 different activities throughout high school, Lauren graduated a leader and supporter for their fellow peers.

Currently, Lauren attends King’s College and is in their fourth year of the Bachelor of Journalism (Honours) program. She strives to be a leader for her fellow Haligonian queer community and participates in local theatre.

Kelly Gauvin

Kelly Gauvin is the first recipient of the Dr. J. Harper Kent Scholar Bursary. Kelly is an outstanding example of a student who has made a meaningful contribution to her community and reflects the value of the Dr. J. Harper Kent Scholar. Kelly graduated from École Secondaire Népisiguit in 2017 . Having attended Université de Moncton's Shippagan campus for her first two years, Kelly has been accepted in med school beginning in the fall of 2019.  

Kelly is active in school and its extracurricular activities.  She was Intern Vice President of the Student Association, and when not in school, she organizes summer camps for young adults on the autism spectrum.

Scholarship Recipients Scholarship Recipients
Allain, Ariane
Boudreau, Maxime
Boudreau, Michelle
Brewster, Mason
Bujold, Emma
Caissie, Avery
Comeau, Brandon
Cormier, Shamus
Côté, Jessie
Couture, Hayley
Cunnison, Elsa
Daley, Jillian
Dalley, Taylor
David, Nicholas
DeGrace, Elyse
Doiron, Marie-Mylène
Doucet, Hailey
Doucet, Jonathan
Duguay, Chloé
Dumaresq, Isabelle
Ellis, Landon
Fongemie, Alyssa
Gauthier, Tarrah
Godbout, Dylan
Godin, Mathieu
Haché, Geneviève
Haché, Renée-Claude
Hannon, Lindsay
Kearney, Michelle
Kenny, Olivia
Lagacé, Noémie
Landry, Zachary
Lapointe, Jillian
Lefrancois, Vincent
Lelievre, Alexander Paul
Lizotte, Theo
MacDonald, Cassidy
Morin, Hannah
Myshrall, Olivia
Pettigrew, Brooke
Pitre, Haley
Richard, Julie-Pierre
Seth, Inayyat
Sinead, Riordon
Sisk, Jaimee
Smith, Jessica
Spragg, Sierra
Stever, Adam
Talbot, Victoria
Van Der Pluijm, Magela
Vandenbrand, Curtis
Vander Pluijm, Ian
Vanoplynus, Tio
Welton, Katrina

The deadline to apply is always June 1st.

You would be very surprised how often students miss this deadline so our advice to you is bold and simple...