Board of Governors

Board of Governors
Catherine McLaughlin

Catherine McLaughlin


Currently serving as President and Chairman of Board, Cathy McLaughlin has been a director of the Foundation since her return to Bathurst in 1979 after completing an honors degree in Business Administration from the University of Western Ontario. She is currently President of Catherine & Company, a gift shop and ladies wear boutique which she founded in 1991.  She is also President of W.J. Kent & Co. Ltd.

Cathy is actively involved in her community, having assumed leadership roles on the Downtown Bathurst Revitalization Corporation, and Gloucester Chapter IODE. She resides in Bathurst, New Brunswick with her husband.

Jack Nielsen

Jack Nielsen

Vice President

Jack Nielsen has been involved with the Foundation for over 35 years, and currently serves as our Vice President. Prior to his retirement, Jack was responsible for the launch of TD Wealth Management for the Province of New Brunswick, working out of Saint John.  He has been involved in the Financial Services Industry since 1964. He also has been involved with numerous local charities and organizations over the past 30 years.

Jack and his wife Bette Anne live in Saint John and their daughter Angela and granddaughters, Madeline and Olivia, live nearby.

Mauryah McLaughlin

Mauryah McLaughlin


Mauryah McLaughlin is a senior associate lawyer with Dentons Canada LLP. She graduated with a Bachelor of Arts from St. Francis Xavier University in 2012, and earned her Juris Doctor from the University of New Brunswick in 2015. She is called to the Bar in New Brunswick and in Alberta, and remains an active member in both jurisdictions.

In addition to her involvement with the J. Harper Kent Charitable Foundation, Mauryah has also served as a committee member for the Chaleur Regional Hospital Foundation and as a council member for the Canadian Bar Association - New Brunswick Division.

While currently residing in Calgary, Mauryah is proud to call Bathurst home and maintains a strong connection to the area, spending her summers on Youghall Beach.

Nancy Boucher

Nancy Boucher


Born in Toronto Ontario, Nancy has been a life-long resident of Bathurst.  Nancy is a graduate of Bathurst High School and the University of New Brunswick. having graduated with a Masters Degree in Education.

Nancy has had a wonderfully fulfilling career in education in New Brunswick as a classroom teacher, principal of an elementary school, educational supervisor, Director of Education, Superintendent of Schools and Assistant Deputy Minister of Education. In her retirement, Nancy continues to do consulting work. 

In her spare time, Nancy is an avid reader and loves to travel.

Scholarship Recipients Scholarship Recipients
Araya-Yohanes, Ab
Babineau, Joelle
Bertin, Cloé
Berubé, Clara
Blanchard, Sara Eve
Boudreau, Myriam
Boudreau, Myriam
Branch-Whitehead, Mackenzie
Brewster, Anna
Buraglia, Sophia
Clément, William Serge
Colton, Nicholas
Comeau, Arianne
Comeau, Brandon
Comeau, Genviève
Comeau, Myriam
Cormier, Shamus
Cunnison, Bereket
David, Nicholas
DeGrace, Mathias
Dobson, Amaya
Dorkhom, Ibrahim
Doucet Callie
Doucet, Annie
Doucet, Dany Daphnée
Duffy, Diana
Duffy, Meghan
Duguay, Audrey
Duguay, Samuel
Dumaresq, Isabelle
Dunn, Jade
Fisher, Hailey
Fournier, Ella
Frenette, Audrey
Gionet, Gabrielle
Godin, Olivier
Godin, Sarah
Godin-LeBreton, Emma
Guérette, Jolin
Guitard, Joanie
Johnstone, Carley
Kane, Joseph
Kelly, Amber
Kelly, Amber
Knowles, Acasha
Kramer, Angel
Landry, Raphaelle
Landry, Sarah
Landry, Vanessa
Lanteigne, Marie-Ève
LeBlanc, Audrey Maude
LeBlanc, Jolyane
LeBreton, Chloe
Lee, Breanna
Lurette, Sarah-Maude
MacCallum, Clae
MacDonald, Cassidy
MacDonald, Eric
Malenko-Nevins, Alexis
Mallais, Christophe
Murphy, Emma
Paulin, Maxime
Pethick, Emily
Pitre, Danika
Potvin, Maxime
Richard, Alexandre
Rioux, Zoé
Robichaud, Jessica
Rogers, Padden
Roy, Madison
Roy, Michael Alexis
Savoie, Yanik
Scott, Simon
Seth, Inayyat
Smith, Sheldon
Spencer, Sydney
St. Amand, Haley
Strong-Roy, Kassidy
Theriault, Kaleb
Tremblay, Megan
Vandenbrand, Curtis
Vienneau, Emily
Vienneau-Godin, Hailey

Be sure to check the deadlines.

You would be very surprised how often students miss this deadline so our advice to you is bold and simple...