About the Scholarship & Scholar Bursary

Dr. J Harper Kent Scholar Bursary Award

The Dr. J. Harper Kent Scholar Bursary was established by the J. Harper Kent Charitable Foundation in 2017. One bursary is awarded annually to a Bathurst High School or École Secondaire Népisiguit student beginning an undergraduate degree program in the fall of their graduating year. This award has a value of $50,000 payable over a four year course of study in the amount of $12,500 per year. Recipients are required to maintain a 3.7 / 4.0 scholarship grade point average each the academic year to renew this scholarship for the following year.

The criteria for the scholarship includes excellence in academics, financial need, leadership qualities and aspirations for future success. The applicants are asked to submit an essay giving the Selection Committee an indication of their leadership capabilities and what receiving this scholarship would mean to them.

Finalists will be interviewed and attendance is required.

The application deadline is always February 28th.

Annual Scholarship

  • Candidates must be Canadian Citizens.
  • Only residents from the Bathurst area graduating from either of the two Bathurst high schools need apply.
  • Candidates will be selected based on both academic achievements and financial need.
  • Scholarships will be granted for full time attendance at college/university.
  • Priority will be given to candidates entering college/university at the first year level. Candidates must apply each year.
  • This is a two part application form and each part must be completed and received by the due dates.
  • The application deadline is always June 1st for Part One. Part Two is always due June 30th.   

You may apply for both!

Scholarship Recipients Scholarship Recipients
Araya-Yohanes, Ab
Babineau, Joelle
Bertin, Cloé
Berubé, Clara
Blanchard, Sara Eve
Boudreau, Myriam
Boudreau, Myriam
Branch-Whitehead, Mackenzie
Brewster, Anna
Buraglia, Sophia
Clément, William Serge
Colton, Nicholas
Comeau, Arianne
Comeau, Brandon
Comeau, Genviève
Comeau, Myriam
Cormier, Shamus
Cunnison, Bereket
David, Nicholas
DeGrace, Mathias
Dobson, Amaya
Dorkhom, Ibrahim
Doucet Callie
Doucet, Annie
Doucet, Dany Daphnée
Duffy, Diana
Duffy, Meghan
Duguay, Audrey
Duguay, Samuel
Dumaresq, Isabelle
Dunn, Jade
Fisher, Hailey
Fournier, Ella
Frenette, Audrey
Gionet, Gabrielle
Godin, Olivier
Godin, Sarah
Godin-LeBreton, Emma
Guérette, Jolin
Guitard, Joanie
Johnstone, Carley
Kane, Joseph
Kelly, Amber
Kelly, Amber
Knowles, Acasha
Kramer, Angel
Landry, Raphaelle
Landry, Sarah
Landry, Vanessa
Lanteigne, Marie-Ève
LeBlanc, Audrey Maude
LeBlanc, Jolyane
LeBreton, Chloe
Lee, Breanna
Lurette, Sarah-Maude
MacCallum, Clae
MacDonald, Cassidy
MacDonald, Eric
Malenko-Nevins, Alexis
Mallais, Christophe
Murphy, Emma
Paulin, Maxime
Pethick, Emily
Pitre, Danika
Potvin, Maxime
Richard, Alexandre
Rioux, Zoé
Robichaud, Jessica
Rogers, Padden
Roy, Madison
Roy, Michael Alexis
Savoie, Yanik
Scott, Simon
Seth, Inayyat
Smith, Sheldon
Spencer, Sydney
St. Amand, Haley
Strong-Roy, Kassidy
Theriault, Kaleb
Tremblay, Megan
Vandenbrand, Curtis
Vienneau, Emily
Vienneau-Godin, Hailey

Be sure to check the deadlines.

You would be very surprised how often students miss this deadline so our advice to you is bold and simple...